Professor Judith Walker

Chair – Professor Judi Walker

Judi brings extensive skills in health consumerism and governance with an understanding of the complexities of diverse health service delivery and appreciation of the values of public and community health. She has a distinguished reputation in academic leadership, research and research translation and rural health. 

She is highly experienced in rural health services’ policy and service development particularly integrated primary health care, chronic health, healthy ageing, community engagement and community wellbeing. She is a member of the Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Australian College of Education.

Deputy Chair – Alison Lai

Alison is currently the CEO of the Alcohol, Tobacco and other Drugs Council Tasmania following a 25 year career spanning the Tasmanian private, public and not-for-profit sectors. As a past consumer and community representative, Alison is a passionate advocate for developing strong and meaningful relationships between government and the communities they seek to assist.

Alison holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) in Marketing from UTAS and is a graduate of the Tasmanian Leaders Program.

Secretary – Antony Logan

Antony has been practicing as a Barrister and Solicitor since 1995. He commenced practice with Dobson Mitchell and Allport before moving to join Hunt & Hunt, the first national firm to open in Hobart.  Antony was made a partner of Hunt & Hunt in 2005.  In 2016 he and his team joined prominent national firm HWL Ebsworth to open their first office in Tasmania.

Antony practices primarily for corporate, public and private sector clients in the areas of property, corporate, commercial, banking and finance and contracts law.

Nicole Grose

Nicole has a wealth of experience in the provision of a broad range of community health services. Working extensively in Rural Tasmania, Nicole has a thorough understanding of the social and economic challenges for people living and working in rural and regional areas and is passionate about health equity, consumer advocacy and wellbeing outcomes. 

Currently serving on the Primary Health Tasmania Community Advisory Council, Nicole is also the community representative on the Health Council of Tasmania. Nicole is an Associate Fellow for the Australian Association for Quality in Health Care (AAQHC) and is the Manager of Primary Health Care for the Royal Flying Doctor Service Tasmania.

John Richard Pauley

John has considerable experience in all levels of government and brings strong consumer focused engagement and consultation skills to the Board.

John chairs our Finance and Risk subcommittee; was President of COTA Tasmania in 2021; retired from the Board of COTA Tasmania after serving 6 years, including 3 as Vice President prior to 2021; Chair of the COTA Tasmania Policy Council; Chairman of TBA Services Pty Ltd since 2010; Vice President of the Tasmanian Association of State Service Superannuants since 2020 and President of the Australian Council of Public Sector Retiree Organisations. 

Jill Morgan

Jill Morgan

Jill was a teacher and principal in the Catholic sector before being appointed as Head of Education Services for Catholic Education Tasmania in 2009. After six years in this position, Jill was appointed Executive Officer for the Archdiocesan Colleges Governing Councils, retiring in 2015. 

Jill is currently a Director on the Board of Masonic Care Tasmania and is a past Director on the National Catholic Secondary Principals Association, State President of the Catholic Principals Association, past Director of the Australian Council for Educational Leaders, Tasmanian Qualifications Authority and Tasmanian Schools Registration Board.  

She holds two Masters Degrees in Education (UTAS) and Educational Leadership (ACU) She was awarded a Fellowship of the Australian Council for Educational Leaders in 2008, and the John Laing Award for Professional Development in 2012.

Jill has had significant experience as a consumer in the health environment, having had serious long-term health challenges. She and her husband Shane live on the East Coast of Tasmania enjoying a relaxed but busy lifestyle. They have three adult sons and six grandchildren.  

Pieter Van Dam

Pieter Van Dam

Associate Professor Pieter Van Dam completed his PhD in Leadership Development in 2015. During the last ten years Dr Van Dam’s career has been focussed on the field of health service improvement and  leadership development. Dr Van Dam has an extensive clinical and educational background in Nursing and healthcare and has worked as a Senior Clinician and in the acute healthcare sector. 

Dr Van Dam works closely with  interstate healthcare improvement organisations on a number of national health service improvement and codesign initiatives  addressing numerous constraints and issues inherent in health service delivery across primary, secondary and tertiary healthcare, such as protracted wait times, care coordination and integration, access and referral across services, and timely treatment and discharge. Dr Van Dam conducts research in the field of health service improvement, leadership, and co-design. 

Currently, Dr Van Dam works for the School of Nursing at the University of Tasmania.

Ken Clarke

Ken Clarke

Ken is a UTAS alumnus and has over 30 years accounting, finance and management consulting experience across various industries, working in Queensland, New South Wales, Tasmania and Europe. He studied an MBA in London at the London Business School, is a Chartered Accountant, and a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.  He has wide expertise serving on Audit and Risk Committees and Local Government Audit Panels. 

Ken grew up in Burnie and after living interstate and overseas, has returned to the north-west coast of Tasmania to live and raise a family. He is a passionate advocate for the North-West coast and believes it is important that the interests of all Tasmanians are heard and respected.



We would like to offer our special thanks to the Implementation Advisory Group who guided us through our first year. Their commitment, passion and advice have made this project possible. They have worked on a range of issues, including the establishment of our founding principles, our statewide consultations, and developing a governance structure. The members of our Implementation Advisory Group have been health consumer representatives: Mathew Etherington, Claire Hadolt, Kate Griggs, Anita Campbell, Darren Jiggins, John Pauley, and Elida Meadows. Community organisation representatives were: Sue Leitch (COTA – Council on The Aging), David Brennan/Simone Favelle (Carers Tasmania), Graeme Lynch (Heart Foundation), Klaus Baur (Flourish Tasmania), Penny Egan (Cancer Council Tasmania), Charlie Burton (TasCOSS) with auspice support provided by Leanne Wells (Consumer Health Forum – Canberra).